Score Sevens Final Day

This past Saturday saw the top sixteen from the pool stages play in the knockouts after forty four teams and some nine hundred players had taken to the field over the past four weeks.


Tygerberg made a clean sweep of matters and went on to win the Cup section by beating fellow debutants Hamiltons 36-14. Tygerberg also boast with the player of the tournament Jaydon Hanslo. Tygerberg’s biggest challenge on route to the final came from False Bay, but ended scoring a close 14-12 win. False Bay had earlier beaten Belhar, who many had considered the tournament favourites.

2017 Champions St Georges opened their title defence with a 21-10 win over All Saints, thereafter a 14 – 12 win over Brackenfell. Their Cup title hopes were dashed 19-7 by Hamiltons. St Georges ended in third place in the Cup section, while Hamiltons went on to play Tygerberg in the finals.

Paarl who showed that their skills are not only resting in the fifteen man game went on to win the Plate section after beating Brackenfell 25-12.

2016 Champions Bellville won the Shield section having only lost their first match to Hamiltons 7-10, and ended up contesting the shield against debutants SK Walmers winning 24 – 12.

The Bowl section was contested between Hamlets and NTK, with Hamlets taking the win 26-5.

Paarl’s Curtley Hamilton Davids who increased his points tally to end 137 points overall for the tournament ended up as the Score WP Club Rugby Sevens top points scorer, and Miguel Smythe ( Scottsdene) walked away as the top try scorer with a total of 19.